Energy Systems Integration Group (ESIG), the leading source of global expertise for energy systems integration and operations, recognized Ben Hobbs, professor in the Department of Environmental Health and Engineering and a core faculty member with the Ralph O’Connor Sustainable Energy Institute (ROSEI), with a Lifetime Achievement Award for his leadership and contributions to system planning and market design, and operation. The award was announced on March 26 at the group’s annual excellence awards ceremony.

From left, Charlie Smith, executive director of ESIG, Ben Hobbs, and Mark Ahlstrom, president of the ESIG board of directors.

The awards recognize energy professionals from around the world for their contributions and accomplishments in the planning and operation of energy systems across multiple pathways and geographical scales in ways that are reliable, economic, and sustainable.

“I am humbled to be honored by the Energy Systems Integration Group,  the oldest international organization dedicated to smoothing the way for the widespread use of wind, solar, and distributed energy sources in power systems,” says Hobbs. “Since 1978, ESIG has provided invaluable extension-type education to renewable power planners and operators around the world and organized research and white papers on emerging issues. The JHU Electric Power Innovation for a Carbon-free Society (EPICS) Center, which I direct, is pleased to be partnering on renewable power research with a team that includes ESIG, the Global Power Systems Transformation Consortium, Columbia-JHU Future Power Markets Forum, Imperial College, and the University of Melbourne.”

More than 30 individuals received Excellence Awards, including one Lifetime Excellence Award winner, for their sustained contributions and dedication to the energy industry.

“ESIG’s annual awards program recognizes the energy industry’s achievements, and we’re seeing significant momentum on transformative projects in 2024,” said Mark Ahlstrom, president of ESIG’s board of directors. “Announcing this year’s recipients truly demonstrates the innovation occurring among energy systems integration and operations leaders, and we are proud to celebrate them all.”

This story was written by Danielle Underferth, and originally appeared on the Department of Environmental Health and Engineering website.